Monday, December 29, 2014


It occurred to me that 2015 is the 30th anniversary of the roots of Sleeping Brothers Records, whose origins stretch back to some primal tuneless skronking in the basement back in '85. Maybe it was '86? Nah, it was '85. We've come a long way and not a long way. It's a humble discipline we all continue to this day.

Where's the news and announcements? Click TWITTER
Who are these bands? Click BANDS
Where is the music? Click STORE (then click Bandcamp) or Click SOUNDCLOUD for Bonus Tracks
What about an occasional blog? Click TUMBLR
How about some videos? Click SBRTV (it's Youtube)
Who are we? Click ABOUT
Who do we like? Click FRIENDS

Monday, March 17, 2014

It Came from a Long Island Basement

Martyr Chris releases the fourth and final volume of the Martyrs Anthology (release limited to the four Martyrs only). Sleeping Brothers Records will issue condensed version of all four volumes in 2014 (believe me, you don't want to hear all 215 tracks). Nearly 30 years in the making. They had no idea what they were doing. They still have no idea what they're doing. Sample tracks coming soon!

Sunday, February 23, 2014

The Throats' Covers Album "Borrower Deluxe" - Free Download

The Throats (Mike O'Shaughnessy) have recorded a bunch of cover songs throughout his career. Borrower Deluxe collects these recordings from 1995-2005 (the title is an expanded version of the 1999 ep Borrower). Completely self-indulgent (and often flat) without an audience in mind, Borrower Deluxe will occasionally interest but often bore the listener ("Song from M*A*S*H" immediately comes to mind). But if Rod Stewart and Elvis Costello can do it, why not the Throats?

Performed and recorded by the Throats (guitars, bass, percussion, keyboards, computer noises, etc.) in bedrooms, living rooms, basements and one bathroom in North Carolina, New York and Oregon.

Below is the list of songs followed by the artists who popularized them.

01. Wear Your Love Like Heaven (Donovan)
02. Her Town (James Taylor)
03. Don't It Make My Brown Eyes Blue? (Crystal Gayle)
04. Ana Ng (They Might Be Giants)
05. Just Remember I Love You (Firefall)
06. Snowbird (Anne Murray)
07. Walk On By (Dionne Warwick)
08. Girls Just Wanna Have Fun (Cyndi Lauper)
09. Photographs & Memories (Jim Croce)
10. It Must Be Love (Madness)
11. Up On the Roof (Laura Nyro)
12. To Make You Feel My Love (Bob Dylan)
13. Bobby Jean (Bruce Springsteen)
14. Cocaine (Jackson Brown)
15. Song from M*A*S*H
16. 88 Lines About 44 Women (The Nails)
17. I Got a Name (Jim Croce)
18. Blasphemous Rumours (Depeche Mode)
19. Men Without Women (Little Steven & the Disciples of Soul)
20. Factory (Bruce Springsteen)
21. Make a Circuit With Me (The Polecats)
22. Sunday Bloody Sunday (U2)

Down the zipped album here for free.

Wednesday, January 1, 2014

Happy New Year from Sleeping Brothers Records!

Sleeping Brothers Records 2014 Singles Series - Witwax 45

Sleeping Brothers Records is excited to announce something we just thought up this morning. In 2014 we will focus on releasing singles in celebration of the 45th birthday of semi-fictional label president Frank Witner. "Witwax 45" will feature a monthly (maybe even more often) digital release of an A-Side/B-Side by one of our bands. We hope to spur on our old artists to record new stuff as well as release new music from our new bands (who are really just our old artists with new band names). "Wake up, Sleeping Brothers!" shouts Boy Pizazz, our label mascot.

Well, that's the big announcement for 2014 thus far. Now if you'll excuse us, we need to tell the bands.